top of page

New Moon in Sagittarius

23/24 November 2022


If the currents of Scorpio season pulled you under with its eclipses and Mars beginning its retrograde, then you are not alone. Seeing what’s under the surface is often never easy. It can be confronting. But now it is time for a breath of fresh air.


There’s a reason why fire signs follow water signs: they help dry up the emotions and give us the motivation to take action. (Earth follows fire to help us ground; air follows earth to enable us to communicate, share and explore new ideas; water follows air so we can get in touch with how we feel about it all; and so the cycle goes.)


Sagittarius is ruled by the planet Jupiter, bringing us a dose of joyful optimism and expansion. It takes us out of the mundane so we can explore the world and our place in it.

Sagittarius is the archer, aiming its arrow at new targets. While it has an end-goal in sight, Sag knows that the goodness lies in the journey, rather than the destination. Any traveller will tell you that the best discoveries are made when they get off the beaten track—and how much more fun it is to hear those stories rather than the well-worn ‘we went and lined up to see the sights that the guide book told us to see’.


As the weaver of your own journey through this life, are you following the guide book or are you making your own discoveries?


There are, of course, a few planets in retrograde which will mean we won’t be able to charge forward right now with the gusto that we would like. The key ones are Jupiter (currently in Pisces) and Mars (in Gemini). Do not be discouraged (as if that’s possible with Sag) as it can be an excellent time to think about where you want to aim your arrow, so that when all the planets are direct in January you are ready to hit the ground running.


With Mercury and Venus also conjunct in Sagittarius, this New Moon is encouraging us to be explorers in our conversations and in how we relate to others. You don’t have to get on a plane to explore a new culture—there are connections to be made with people in your own world. Try something new every day, even if it is just altering the route of your daily walk or playing tourist in your own town.


Use this New Moon to turn up the fire in your belly again: lean into the joy and the light, explore the world beyond your backyard, play. This life is an adventure, so live it.


The exact time of the New Moon is:

AEDT: Thursday 24 November @ 9.57am

United Kingdom: Wednesday 23 November @ 10.57pm

US Eastern: Wednesday 23 November @ 5.57pm

US Pacific: Wednesday 23 November @ 2.57pm

Find your timezone here


 



0 comments

Comments


bottom of page